What’s Your Fetish? // The Gay Dater //

According to my trusted resource for everything Dictionary.com a ‘Fetish’ is described as:

An extremely strong devotion to something. There are sexual fetishes and nonsexual fetishes: both are obsessive interests. The most common use of the word fetish is probably the sexual meaning.

Based on the above description, (which I agree with), having a specific preference (sexually or not) is actually a fetish. This means if you have a preference for hair color, race, height, weight, you are fetishizing those attributes of a person. For a society that often sees the idea of “fetishes” as a part of the fringe, when you wrap it into that context, it seems we are all a little guilty of it having a fetish (or two).

My problem is I feel people don’t often see beyond those preferences. I don’t know about you, but I’m more than just my physical attributes. I wouldn’t want to be with someone who “prefers brown guys”. I am nobody’s kinky flavor.

Preference or Fetish? Is there really a difference? What’s yours? 


Subscribe to my YouTube channel
Follow me on Twitter
Check out my Tumblr

Leave a Reply

