Thanks for Being Gay

It’s that time of the year in Canada – Thanksgiving long weekend. I wanted to take a moment to really reflect on the current state of the LGBT community and also to look at my own life and just note down some of the many things I am grateful for.

Guy eating a pumpkin in a pumpkin patch

Living in the city of Toronto is something I take for granted on the daily. I am thankful that as a gay man, (a gay man of colour for that matter) I have been able to live my life and be who I want to be and express myself however I want without fear of discrimination or violence. I am privileged to have the support of family and friends for all aspects of my life and am thankful that I do not live in fear of rejection from those I love. I am a citizen of a country that recognises gay marriage. I can marry a man I love and I can even have children if that is in my cards. I am thankful for how lucky I am to live like I can as a gay man.

I often think about my other brothers and sisters who are not as fortunate as me. I think about those who live in the shadows. I think about those who cannot express who they are in fear of being discriminated against. I think about those who are brave and try to bring forth love and are only welcomed with hate. I think about those who have lost their lives to acts of homophobia, trans-phobia, hate and ignorance. I think about those who live in countries that damn their existence. I think about those who just want to love someone of their same sex and are not allowed to. I think about those who want the things that I can have.

I am lucky and I am thankful.

What are you thankful for?


Subscribe to my YouTube channel
Follow me on Twitter
Check out my Tumblr

Leave a Reply

