Looking for Love // My Dear Gay Community //

Looking for Love

At the end of the day, the one thing that all humans, gay or straight, should be looking for is love. There is not one person on earth that doesn’t want that for themselves. When we stay single for our entire lives because we focused too much on ourselves, our successes, and selfish pleasures we send out the idea that it is frankly okay to live a loveless life. This letter is just as much a letter championing love than it is hoping to change the way the gay community thinks.

It’s bad enough that we cannot procreate and make little gay babies to fill our community with more impressionable individuals. In fact, that could just be the crux of the situation. Perhaps because we don’t feel like we really contribute to the norms of society, we believe that we can set our own standards and our own paths. I do believe in freedoms and living an untethered life, but above all else, I do believe in love. I believe in the butterflies you feel when you touch for the first time. I believe in the feeling you get when you wake up next to someone and smile. I believe in the heart stopping exhilaration you feel when you say, “I do”. And I even believe in the heartbreak you feel when that person is gone. Feeling if not love is the reason for life.

And to remind you of what you should be promoting, here is Same Love by Macklemore & Ryan Lewis.

Read Part I. Here
Read Part III. Here

Thoughts?


Subscribe to my YouTube channel
Follow me on Twitter
Check out my Tumblr

2 thoughts on “Looking for Love // My Dear Gay Community //

Leave a Reply

