Grindr Culture // The Gay Dater //

My experiences with dating through Grindr is if that most people take it as a selfish act – people don’t know what they want, sexualize all of their desires, and still want to be sincere.

Ex. “Top, looking for friends. No Hookups!”

It’s contradictory, and many a time people just go along with that culture because they don’t know any better. I used to be the same way. But I’ve learned over time that my dignity and self worth are higher than sending pictures of my ass and cock to any Joe Blow and let that define me over who I am as a person, outside of sex and even my sexuality. Recently, I talked to a guy who used the common conversation starter, “Into?” and I clapped back with “I’m into a lot of things, but most of all I’m into having a proper conversation with someone”. I think he was taken aback and he admitted to me that he wasn’t really even sure why he had said it in the first place.

At the end of the day, just because we’re gay, it does not warrant us to act like animals to each other. To each their own, some people like that culture, but I think about those young impressionable men who stumble upon this world and assume that as the normal treatment of others online.

This creates a never ending spiral that drives them away from finding out who they really are, and instead distracting them with the vain and shallow aspects of the gay community. It’s such an interesting world because in person, no one would flash you their cock before you saw their face, unless you were at Steamworks purposely looking for anonymous sex.

Thoughts?


Subscribe to my YouTube channel
Follow me on Twitter
Check out my Tumblr

 

Leave a Reply

